A Different Look At Being ‘Born Again’

John 3:3-[to Nicodemus] Jesus answered and said to him, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.” (New King James Version)

2 Corinthians 5:17-Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. (also NKJV)

Hi, I’m [river in Ireland], and I’m not an addict. I’m not an alcoholic either, although such things run in my family. I’m not a sex addict, since it’s kind of hard to be one of those when you’ve only ‘been with’ one person. I’m not a criminal, have never been homeless and had a pretty good childhood. And yet, I am what you could call a born-again Christian. In a sense, anyway.

When I first came to know God, I was part of a very small Independent Baptist church. I was fifteen. For most of the [censored] years since then, I’ve traveled in various Baptist and Pentecostal/non-denominational circles. If you’ve been there, you know that those churches tend to be full of ‘born-again’ Christians. One of the biggest things I’ve heard them say is how God brought them up out of the pit of Hell in the form of addiction, sex, abuse, crime, etc. I’m not discounting their conversions at all-in fact, I admire them. I can’t even begin to imagine what their lives were like or how difficult it has been to change. If this describes you, bravo-you are a better woman than I, my friend. Or man. Or whatever.

One thing I also saw, though, was how these were thought of as the only ‘real’ conversions. It seemed that, the more dramatic the change, the more ‘legitimate’ your faith. I heard it said that people who grew up in ‘traditional’ churches or always lived on the straight-and-narrow couldn’t be ‘real’ Christians because they couldn’t be ‘born again’. We weren’t ‘new creations’ because we have always lived the ‘Christian’ life, even if we didn’t call it that. Leaving one denomination for another as many of my sorority sisters did ‘counted’ because their previous churches were ‘dead’ and they needed to go somewhere else for an ‘authentic’ experience of God. I’m not saying that every new Christian I met felt this way or that this is the Evangelical ‘party line’, but it was something I hadn’t heard before and it made an impression. Some were downright rude about it, but others just spoke from their own experience. I see their point, but I think they’re missing something.

A big part of being ‘born again’ is recognizing your need for God; that you can’t do it all by yourself. People being brought up from the depths of whatever usually acknowledge that a change is needed, that they are on a path that only leads to destruction. The ‘good kids’, however, usually think they’re doing just fine. That’s how I was, anyway. They might not see their need for God because, to them, He’s always ‘been there’; they’ve never known what it’s like not to have Him in their lives. They never ‘look’ for Him because they don’t think they need to.

Then, enter college. I say college because this is a time that many people are away from home for the first time, but it can happen anytime a big change comes. At some point in our lives we will sit back, take stock of what we’ve believed so far and decide where to go from there. We’ll decide which pill to take and whether or not to walk through the door we’ve been guided to.*

For instance, take my friend D. He was raised Catholic, went to Catholic school the whole way and was pretty devout until he went away to college at 18. The first thing he thought when he got there was, ‘yay, freedom! I can stay up as long as I want, watch dirty movies and sleep late on Sunday because no one will make me go to church! Yay!’ He thought he didn’t need to go to church or keep up a relationship with God because He was always going to be there no matter what.

He was partly right. God was there, just as He always is. However, it wasn’t long before he felt that something was missing in his life. Am I homesick? Not really. Friends? That’s what email is for. Is it a girlfriend? Maybe. When all those needs were fulfilled, though, something was still lacking. Then, he came across a Catholic campus ministry, found a church and resumed the observances that he’d been ignoring. The ‘hole’ he’d felt was filled and he went back to the way of life he’d gotten ‘freedom’ from before.

My point is that, despite his upbringing, he still had to make an active decision whether or not he still needed or wanted God in his life, which is the same thing I did when I got ‘saved’ and my hard-living sister did when she found God and got onto a better path. It wasn’t a dramatic change and it didn’t look like the ‘brought up from the pit of Hell’ things we often see, but he was still ‘born again’ because he had analyzed his circumstances and decided that He still wanted to follow Jesus. However, a lot of people I’ve known would say that his experience isn’t ‘valid’ because he didn’t ‘get saved’ and make the 180° turnabout that many think is required. Even so, he still had to make that commitment, he still had to renew his focus on God and accept the charge that is given to all Christians to do God’s work on earth.

When I first learned about God, I was taught that our past wasn’t of concern to Him so much as our present and future. We often take that to mean that He can redeem even the worst of sinners because they are the ones most in need of it. This is true, but perhaps it’s the not the only “right” way of looking at it. Perhaps the past God doesn’t care about also includes our past of thinking we could earn ‘brownie points’ by being good and of not thinking we need Him at all. Like I said before, the people who know they are on a destructive path usually know something needs to change and will do what they have to to make it happen. They’ll turn to God because they will learn that there’s really no other way. Those of us who think we’re okay without God might not see it this way. However, I still think you could say that we’re even *more* in need of being ‘born again’ because then we will come to the realization that it’s Him that saves, not our good works. It’s not about what we do, but what He already did.

Each person has his/her own path to follow. Whether it starts at age four in Children’s Chapel, age 18 when entering a transitory period or age 40 after decades of hard living-each person experiences God and the message of Christianity in their own way. No one else can tell us whether or not our walk started in a ‘valid’ way; it’s following Jesus and giving Him our whole hearts that matters most. I’m not the best at this, but I guess that’s part of the ‘process’ that is the Christian life.

My cat Toby agrees, which I guess is as much of an ‘endorsement’ as I can expect. :)

*Please forgive me the Matrix references. It was a big franchise when I was younger, back in the dark ages.

About theprozacqueen

30s, female, married, Georgia US, very opinionated, open-minded mostly, too nice for my own good, Christian, fairly liberal, friendly. I have a pretty big family and several friends and in-laws that might as well be family. I don't have kids, but I have five cats who think they're kids. I have a silly (and sometimes off-color) sense of humor. View all posts by theprozacqueen

3 responses to “A Different Look At Being ‘Born Again’

  • Donna Benson

    I can’t remember when Jesus was not in my life either. You bring up an interesting point. There are many in church today who have lived hard and understand their need for Jesus in a real tangible way. But Jesus saved you and I from learning the hard way and we are just as saved as they are. Being born again is the removal of the old nature and receiving new life…a new nature in Christ Jesus. Our old stony heart is removed replaced with a heart alive in Jesus.
    Just because I did not experience the bad choices others have made in their lives, does not mean I don’t acknowledge my need of a savior. I have sinned. Sin is sin no matter whether small or large. God looks at all of it the same. The smallest lie, an unkind word, or even not doing something you knew God wanted you to do can be a sin. So even the best of us need Jesus. All have fallen short, no one is perfect except Jesus. I rejoice Jesus saved me from all that stuff and I praise Him all the more because of it. http://fleetothemountains.com/

    Like

  • Kat

    I liked your post and I’m a member of a small Independent Baptist Church. I also grew up in church going with my grandmothers, so it was exciting to be sitting next to my grandmother and watching everything she did. Back then women wore hats. One grandma was in the country, the other in the city, one Methodist the other I don’t know what her church was, It’s not important the denomination, the Bible and Jesus were taught and uplifted and praised Anyway, I saw myself in your writing- I went away to college and I took advantage of every Sunday morning to sleep in . My opinion is God allows us to find him i different times and ways. Sadly, some of us never find him. I don’t think people having their understanding with the ‘Man Upstairs’ giving them permission to keep God at a distance only to be summoned when He’s needed. God has paid too much a precious price to allow a person to think that. that is a thought implanted from Satan to believe that God does not want an intimate relationship with us on a daily, continual basis. We live to much in the flesh and not enough in our spirit/soul..God must be worshiped in spirit and truth. I will like to follow you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Drew Downs

making sense of a faith that doesn't make sense

J.S. Park

A Blog For Struggling Christians

Amanda Christine

Changing the world for the glory of God.

Discover the power of love

Chief of the Least

Christ came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief....

Show Must Go On!!!

- On with the Show

YOU'RE JUST A DUMBASS

Want to date smarter?

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, debut novel, BWWM,

People Who Get It

If you're wondering what "it" is, you probably don't get it.

ghunterhanks

Pithy Insight and Shameless Self-Promotion

My Wiccan Walk

A record of my journey towards nature and all its glory

raaniyork

Raani York, Author/Writer, publishes thoughts, subjects, experiences, etc.

Cathy Hunsberger

"Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can." - Danny Kaye

Christina's Corner

Random Thoughts and Crazy Ideas

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Purple Rosemary

Art Photography and Other Stuff

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

