SEX!!!!!!

Made you look! 🙂

I’ve been reading through some of the article and posts on the sites I frequent, and I had some more thoughts. Scary, I know. Be careful, this ‘thinking’ thing could become a trend. 🙂

Anyway, I was thinking about the way some Christians focus more on sexual sins than anything else, and I came to the conclusion that they probably do this because sexual sins are just more interesting. Think about it, who of us doesn’t like to think about sex, at least on some level? It’s titillating*. Maybe we don’t want to think of certain actions, but the subject in general is more interesting to think and talk about than a lot of the other sins.

Sloth? Snore.

Greed? Don’t you have to have money first?

Gluttony? Who cares?

Envy? Can be interesting.

Wrath? Well, some of us enjoy this one.

Pride? We’re getting there.

Lust? Ding ding ding! We have a winner!

Of course this isn’t an exhaustive list, but you get the point. It seems to me that some Christians make lust out to be the worst of the worst when it comes to sins. If this were true, you would think that a person would want to focus on *other* sins, so as to hide their propensity to lust and distract from it. I know I have an issue with lust sometimes. But is there really any ‘hierarchy’ of sins? I’m not sure, otherwise I’d have been hellbound a long time ago. I think a lot of Christians also focus on sexual sins because those might be the particular sins they do not struggle with in their own lives, and pointing the finger is a good distraction. It’s really quite fun sometimes. Otherwise, we just might have to *gasp!* think about our own sins. No one really likes to do this, but it is necessary.

That is why the view of my current church (Episcopal) makes more sense to me…the prayers and meditations are about confessing and repenting of our own sins. I have never heard the sins of others being mentioned. I guess the idea is that, if we give that amount of thought to our own sins, we won’t have time to judge others. It’s not intended to impose guilt so much as making you aware. I’ll admit I prefer to be distracted. It’s much more fun for me to point the finger at other people, but that liturgy serves to remind me that when I point one finger at someone, I have three more pointing back to me. It’s kind of a sobering thought.

And now I am going to go distract myself from lusting after Michael on Burn Notice by lying around on the couch all day, envying my neighbor’s BMW, counting my (nonexistent) money and eating a whole pint of Cherry Garcia. I’ll let you know how this goes.

* I used that word on purpose. Sue me. 🙂

About theprozacqueen

30s, female, married, Georgia US, very opinionated, open-minded mostly, too nice for my own good, Christian, fairly liberal, friendly. I have a pretty big family and several friends and in-laws that might as well be family. I don't have kids, but I have five cats who think they're kids. I have a silly (and sometimes off-color) sense of humor. I'm a Christian so I'll try not to be nasty or use bad language in my posts, but I'm not making any promises, View all posts by theprozacqueen

Leave a Reply

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Gay Christian

My Thoughts. My Journal. My Life.

Tea and Theology

Fix yourself a cup of tea. Let's talk theology.

renegade mothering

tales of a wayward mama

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Notes from the U.K.

Exploring the spidery corners of a culture and the weird stuff that tourist brochures ignore.

My Ears Are Tired

where the days are long, but the years are short

Express With NeJae

Express Yourself ..We Care

New Pollyanna

Ne'er-do-well on the loose

Lorelle on WordPress

Helping you learn more and do more with WordPress

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

J is for Jardín

A Rapid Cycling Kinda Life: Because Sometimes I Thrive & Sometimes I'm Dormant

Da UGLY Ducklin

The life of PASSION

blahpolar

bipolar, uninterrupted

Not A Minute To Waste

About life. Anything and everything about it. Let's talk.

Marie Abanga's Blog

A site about my thrilling life, inspiration, motivation, writings & mental health

