A bit of a rant, however annoying…

I don’t normally go off like this (despite the tag called ‘rants’ :P), but I just saw this:

Bachman’s Capitol Tea Party

The most disturbing part was this*:

Sign comparing health care reform to the Holocaust

*Warning: disturbing and frightening image.

OMFG, I can’t believe this. I saw it on The Daily Show and hoped it was a joke, as you’d expect from Comedy Central. Bad taste, maybe, but but still a leg-pull. I looked it up online, but found that it was real. Meaning, someone actually had the audacity to carry this sign in a crowd where people affected by the monstrous deeds depicted and other-well, humans-would see it. What is worse is that it was only one of many dehumanizing and disgustingly offensive signs handed out by right-wing organizations Americans for Prosperity and FreedomWorks in protest to the health care reform bill passed this past weekend. What’s even worse than that was that this ‘tea party’ was organized by a member of Congress and endorsed by Fox News. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised at the latter, but I would hope that even they wouldn’t stoop that low. Guess I was wrong.

Other articles about the larger issue:
Is the Tea Party Gang Turning GOP Into a Party of Hate?

Igor Panarin’s Doomsday Tea Party

The Tea Party’s Takeover of the GOP

I admit that I don’t know a whole lot about politics, and I’m aware most of my sources aren’t completely unbiased. I don’t think a person has to know a lot about politics to be disgusted by having a bill passed that might help people compared to one of the worst events in human history. There were other offensive statements and signs shown, but this one hit a sore spot for me. The Holocaust and related things can be very triggering for me. I can’t think of many things that can even compare to that level of cruelty, and so likening it to things such as an unpopular bill or a politician who hasn’t shown any signs of being even close to that level of evil upsets me. I hate to think how it must have looked to someone who had relatives in the camps or who had been in them themselves.

This ‘tea party’ was organized by Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-MN) and attended by several other representatives…from the Chattahbox article:

“Shortly after noon, Bachmann led a contingent of GOP right-wingers, including Virginia Foxx (R-NC), Rep Steve King (R-IA), Rep. Todd Akin (R-MO) and House Minority Leader John Boehner (R-OH), to greet the teabaggers waving their health care reform is like the Holocaust signs.”

On behalf of myself and others in my home state of North Carolina, I would like to apologize for our representative’s involvement.

I know this seems like small potatoes, but I saw it as yet another example of how shrill the right-wing scream machine has gotten. I’m not going to pretend that my fellow moderates and liberals are perfect, certainly not. However, the less I hear about the childish behavior of Republicans, the less I like them. I know this is wrong because these are only the louder ones and there are many reasonable and compassionate Republicans out there. I am married to one, and related to several others. Many of my friends lean to the right, and I’m not really all that partisan…usually. I agree with some things and am relatively live-and-let-live on others. However, sensationalism and hyperbole bother me. That’s why I don’t watch Jerry Springer; well, that, and I have no desire to see women get their tops ripped off in a fight. 🙂

Say what you want about health care reform or Obama, but whatever happened to intelligent, reasonable debate and courtesy? I guess we don’t see that much because it is the sensationalism we are interested in and/or remember. Maybe I’m just imagining things, maybe nice guys really do finish last. I’ll admit to paying more attention to the shouters, so maybe that says something about me too…people don’t perform unless there is an audience. I don’t know a lot about the systems of politics and lawmaking, but I do know one thing: if I see a person or group go to ridiculous and offensive lengths to make their point, I’m not likely to listen to anything they have to say. I’m not alone in this. It’s essentially the same thing our parents used to do when we threw fits in the grocery store; ignored us so that we would stop bawling to get their attention.

Now that I got that out, back to your regularly scheduled program. Feel free to flame me, I’m used to it. 🙂

About theprozacqueen

30s, female, married, Georgia US, very opinionated, open-minded mostly, too nice for my own good, Christian, fairly liberal, friendly. I have a pretty big family and several friends and in-laws that might as well be family. I don't have kids, but I have five cats who think they're kids. I have a silly (and sometimes off-color) sense of humor. I'm a Christian so I'll try not to be nasty or use bad language in my posts, but I'm not making any promises, View all posts by theprozacqueen

2 responses to “A bit of a rant, however annoying…

Leave a Reply

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Gay Christian

My Thoughts. My Journal. My Life.

Tea and Theology

Fix yourself a cup of tea. Let's talk theology.

renegade mothering

tales of a wayward mama

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Notes from the U.K.

Exploring the spidery corners of a culture and the weird stuff that tourist brochures ignore.

My Ears Are Tired

where the days are long, but the years are short

Express With NeJae

Express Yourself ..We Care

New Pollyanna

Ne'er-do-well on the loose

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

J is for Jardín

A Rapid Cycling Kinda Life: Because Sometimes I Thrive & Sometimes I'm Dormant

Da UGLY Ducklin

The life of PASSION

blahpolar

bipolar, uninterrupted

Not A Minute To Waste

About life. Anything and everything about it. Let's talk.

Marie Abanga's Blog

My thrilling life as an author, coach, consultant & mental health advocate...

