Lessons learned in 2009

Throwback Thursday-this was originally posted in 2009, but I’ve added a few pictures and made other updates.

 

I know we still have a week or so left in the year, but I can’t guarantee I’ll be coherent enough to see straight by then.  Here are a few of the lessons this past year has taught me.

-I am not now, and should never be, defined by my job.  I felt like I lost a part of myself in this past year or so when I had to stop trying to work, simply because I have done it for so long that I didn’t know a whole lot else.  There are a lot more details about the ‘progression’ in this and this post. It was, however, the best thing I could have done for myself.  I’m wondering now whether the series of disappointments I mention in the links above were God’s way of showing me what was really important in life, or preparing me for something else? That is something my friend M suggested, and very well might be true. It’s not the first time I’ve heard/thought of this, but it usually takes me a couple of times to get things through my thick skull!.  He works in strange ways, ways I often don’t understand or like at the time but that turn out to be just what I need. I am the worst person in the world about submitting and/or trusting Him sometimes and not trying to do everything myself. I’ve had a lot of trouble with my faith in the past few years, which gives this realization even more weight. This might sound offensive to some, but I wonder if parts of my life thus far have been sort of a ‘man born blind’ story-where I am made weak so that the glory and power of God can be shown through me? If so, bring it on!

Okay, I’ll stop preaching now. I just have to keep reminding myself that there is a reason for everything.

And somebody pass me my raincoat…:)

-Related to the above, this past year has reminded me of how important friends and family are, and how they matter a lot more than how much money you make.   I now remember why I decided not to go to law school after college-I didn’t want to be killing myself at an office 80 hours a week trying to pay off student loans, and not have time for a life.  It’s just not worth it.

Monty Python and the Holy Grail has to be one of the funniest movies ever made. I’d seen it before, but because of my insanely silly husband, I’ve gained a new appreciation for Monty Python. It’s educational too. If not for that movie, I might not have ever learned the truth about rabbits:

🙂

-I could easily be dead right now if not for the hand of God.  All accounts of my accident given to me by my doctors, family, and even the insurance adjusters tell me that it’s a miracle that I survived, much less can walk and take care of the house.

For those who have not heard the story, I was hit when pulling out of my subdivision on the way to a new job. I was hit T-bone style (perpendicularly) on the driver’s side by a Ford F150. In case you haven’t seen one of these trucks, they are quite massive and one of the toughest, heaviest pickup trucks out there. My Saturn was turned from a four-door sedan into a crumpled pile of metal within about a few minutes. Here’s the writeup with pictures:

saturn close up

Close-up of Saturn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Please pardon the unevenness of the pictures. WordPress hates me today.)

I got out of it with a punctured lung and a broken pelvis,  and that’s just what I’ve been told about. I spent a month in the hospital, half of it restrained and sedated to keep me from waking up and ripping out all of my tubes…I’m told I did this quite often! I had extensive physical and occupational therapy, essentially learning to walk again.  On the up side, at least some of the therapists were cute. 🙂 Don’t ask me how it all happened because I don’t remember…I don’t remember a single thing about the wreck itself, nor the first two weeks in the hospital.  The only pictures I’ve seen are from the newspaper, and those are just of the cars; I’ve never seen one of me. Truth be told, I’m not sure I want to.

My friends tell me that my memory (or lack thereof) was God’s way of protecting me from further trauma. Given the nightmares others like me have had, I believe it.

I’ve told this story in my head and to other people about a million times, and each time I do I remember how it could have turned out. I was hit by a truck that can tow a hippopotamus, for God’s sake. I have to keep reminding myself of this when I start feeling sorry for myself for the things I cannot do.

-I now know even more uses for the ‘F’ word than before.  You tend to rack things like that up when you work in restaurants.  I think I’m up to 20 now.

-Some people can be real idiots. No, I didn’t just learn this now, but I’ve gotten plenty of reminders.

-It’s okay to ask for help, and you are not less of a person for needing it.  People who would make you feel as though you are are usually completely clueless and deserve to be ignored.  They can be useful, though, if only to remind you of the point above this one.

-I love taking pictures.  I don’t, however, love being in pictures.  I am not photogenic at all, and the fact that my siblings are and that my brother used to model doesn’t help.

See the picture a couple of points up, of the ambulance? That’s about as much of a “selfie” as you’ll get from me. 🙂

-There are a lot-and I do mean a lot-of things I didn’t know about my family that I could have used growing up.  I understand that I was pretty young during one particularly interesting period, but knowing some of the things when I was ten that I overheard by eavesdropping two months ago could have saved me a lot of time, anxiety and money for the therapist.  Well, maybe I would have still needed the therapist, but it would have at least given me more of a head start! 🙂 I understand why I wasn’t told many of these things at the time and that some things aren’t what you want other people knowing, even in the family.   I was just a kid, I can see why someone wouldn’t want a kid to know a lot of things.  It was just really, really weird hearing my dad talk about things that defined my and my sister’s childhoods as openly and casually as he would talk about yesterday’s newspaper.

-Don’t look down those in need, or others who are referred to by Jesus as ‘the least of these’.  Most, if not all, of us are going to be ‘the least of these’ at some point in our lives.  Some of us already have been.

-Some people can be real idiots.  Sorry, did I mention that before? 🙂

-Cats make good alarm clocks. Ditto vacuum cleaners and hot water bottles.

-I am probably the most self-absorbed person I know. At least, that’s how it feels sometimes.  However, I think that is part and parcel when the depression hits. It’s hard to see a whole lot else when you are trapped behind a black curtain with only your own mind for comfort.  Oh, and, I’m overdramatic too. 🙂

-There is something wonderfully comforting about making a Chef Boyardee pizza kit and chocolate chip cookies from the freezer section.

I’m sure these aren’t the only things I learned this year, but they are the ones I can think of at the moment. Hopefully in the coming year I will continue to learn, and perhaps have more interesting things to say than my usual drivel.

Oh, and, if you want to argue with anything here, that’s in room 12a. 🙂

 

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
About theprozacqueen

30s, female, married, Georgia US, very opinionated, open-minded mostly, too nice for my own good, Christian, fairly liberal, friendly. I have a pretty big family and several friends and in-laws that might as well be family. I don't have kids, but I have five cats who think they're kids. I have a silly (and sometimes off-color) sense of humor. I'm a Christian so I'll try not to be nasty or use bad language in my posts, but I'm not making any promises, View all posts by theprozacqueen

10 responses to “Lessons learned in 2009

  • Bag Lady

    Lots of good lessons — no argument — but I was wondering where being hit in the head lessons were available. 🙂

    Like

  • Jan

    Glad you joined RevGals. I hope you’ve recovered well from that awful accident. I’m intrigued by your blog title and name, since I’ve been taking daily prozac for over a decade due to clinical depression.

    Like

    • theprozacqueen

      Thank you! I started treatment for depression in 1995, although I’m sure I had it before then. I have bipolar disorder, I’m not sure if I was misdiagnosed at first or if the biggest part started later. It has had a big impact on my spiritual life; I have learned a lot about God and some of His followers through their reactions to my disorder and willingness to help me. Some made it out to be my fault, a result of low faith or unresolved sin, a spirit to be cast out…whereas some others recognized it for what it is-a chemical illness. My friend Michelle says that she wonders if God allowed this to happen so that I can be a bigger help to others, and I think that might be true. I also have to drill it into my head that God’s existence doesn’t depend on my ability to feel Him, as some of my former coreligionists thought. I wasn’t raised a Christian but for many years was a Southern Baptist.

      I just hope I can be as good of a writer as everyone else on the ring!

      Like

  • Jan

    Oddly, I was hospitalized in 1995 and started taking zoloft then. But two years later, after being suicidal frequently, I got on prozac, which has saved me.

    Like

  • What if I don’t *want* kids? « The Prozac Queen's Court

    […] you want to know (at least, partially) why, read this post down to about the middle of the page. In a nutshell, I was hit on the driver’s side by a […]

    Like

  • What if I don’t *want* kids? | The Prozac Queen's Court

    […] you want to know (at least, partially) why, read this post down to about the middle of the page. In a nutshell, I was hit on the driver’s side by a […]

    Like

  • anxiety attack symptoms in men

    Learn More About Panic Attacts Right Here!

    This article contains a selection of tips for dealing with panic attacks in stressful situations.

    If you are unsure about how to handle your
    panic attacks, try to learn proper breathing and relaxation techniques.

    The simple act of employing proper breathing methods can aid
    in controlling panic attack as it occurs.

    When you feel a panic attack coming, try to stop, sit
    yourself down, and start your breathing. Try to do this ten times to feel better.

    Feeling alone can make it much harder to manage your anxiety.

    Having a support system will help you overcome your personal obstacles.
    Friends and loved ones are meant to be a support structure for you.

    If you feel an onset of panic or severe anxiety looming ahead, ask yourself if there’s something or someone in your surroundings that you should
    be fearing. Is someone in your well-being? The answer will
    almost always be a resounding no, so relax and let the fear drift away from your body.

    If you sense an episode starting to take hold, resist the urge to combat
    it. Remember that the condition will be temporary and don’t obsess over your negative feelings.
    The more you struggle during a panic attack, try to stay calm and wait for it to pass.

    Remind yourself of previous panic experiences and that have ended without anything bad happening.Relax
    and try not to think positively to ride it out.

    People have panic attacks deal with a variety of reasons.

    A support group can be a great place to exchange tips for dealing with your panic attacks.

    The fear of panic attack may often trigger an actual
    attack. Stop focusing on the triggers and how to deal with them.
    These thoughts can actually bring on a panic attack.It is the same as any other obsession; if someone tells
    you not to have thoughts about something, it is all you can think about.

    As stated above, this article provided you with important information for dealing with panic attacks.
    Use this information today to start living better,
    despite the scary nature of this condition. Your well-being depends on handling these episodes properly.

    Like

  • Bianca

    Thanks for sharing this. You know, I can still remember getting a phone call from your husband about your accident, but I’ve never seen a photo of your car. You are a miracle!

    Like

  • Things I hate the most | The Prozac Queen's Court

    […] from the death or dismemberment pretty much everyone who’s seen the cars (you can see them here, about halfway down the page) says should have happened. I know there’s a reason for it and […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Gay Christian

My Thoughts. My Journal. My Life.

Tea and Theology

Fix yourself a cup of tea. Let's talk theology.

renegade mothering

tales of a wayward mama

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Notes from the U.K.

Exploring the spidery corners of a culture and the weird stuff that tourist brochures ignore.

My Ears Are Tired

where the days are long, but the years are short

Express With NeJae

Express Yourself ..We Care

New Pollyanna

Ne'er-do-well on the loose

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

J is for Jardín

A Rapid Cycling Kinda Life: Because Sometimes I Thrive & Sometimes I'm Dormant

Da UGLY Ducklin

The life of PASSION

blahpolar

bipolar, uninterrupted

Not A Minute To Waste

About life. Anything and everything about it. Let's talk.

Marie Abanga's Blog

My thrilling life as an author, coach, consultant & mental health advocate...

