Enquiring minds want to know…

Okay, so I used the tagline from one of the worst tabloid rags of my generation. Sue me. 🙂

I seem to always be asking questions. Whether this is a blessing or a curse, a good thing or bad thing depends on who you ask.  I’ve managed to infuriate many a professor or preacher without really meaning to. Anyway, I’m bored and I have a blog and you don’t, so you are going to listen to everything I have to say. 🙂 Here goes:

-I wonder if cats can be trained to do household chores. Slater likes to ‘knead’ so much, I wonder if he can be trained to do that on our backs on command.  Maybe then he’ll actually earn his keep.  Yeah, right, and I’m a supermodel. 🙂

-I wonder if I’m ever going to get my hip fixed, or if I should even try right now. I’ll just have to get the replacement replaced in about 20 years anyway, but that actually isn’t a huge problem.  In a sense I really want to but I don’t know if it’s ever going to be a ‘good time’ with money and all that.  So I’m afraid to get my hopes up and then have them dashed again.  One reason I want it is because I can’t have kids until I do, but to be honest I wonder if that’s even a consideration.  I’m not going to explain one of the other reasons…let’s just say I lost a lot of the motion in the left hip, and leave it at that.

-I wonder if I’m ever going to get this song out of my head:

🙂

-On the tip of #2 , I wonder if the fact that I am 32 and my ‘biological clock’ isn’t ticking at a deafening volume like those of my friends is God’s way of preparing me for not having kids, or telling me that it’s not the best idea.  I’m probably overthinking, but I’m concerned about the bipolar causing problems. It’s not so much about passing it on, although that is a very distinct possibility, especially since it’s on my husband’s side of the family too. No, it’s more about not being able to get through the pregnancy without meds or possibly not being a good parent because I’m too busy throwing things at my reflection in the mirror because my husband and I can’t afford our meds and stuff for the kid too.  Most of the time I don’t really ‘act mental’…in fact, my brother-in-law says he’d never have guessed that I even *have* bipolar, I seem so even-headed. *laugh* If he only knew…:)  Seriously, it doesn’t usually run my life but I can’t plan on that, especially during a pregnancy. We talk about adoption, but I’m not sure that would be much better, or if the state would even *let* me adopt. We shall see.

-I wonder what I’d look like with a shaved head.

-I wonder what I did to deserve such a good husband, or what he did to deserve being saddled to me for life.

-I wonder if I’m ever going to get past this obsession I have with being clean and thinking I have body odor when my husband, friends, mother, and even doctors have been telling me I don’t. Oh well, there are worse things to be obsessed with than bathing, like Italian sausages and celebrity plastic surgery.  🙂

-I’m still trying to figure out why I should care about things like which actor’s dating who or what perfume the president’s wife’s former roommate is wearing.  This is an exaggeration, but not much of one. I guess I should be happy that things are boring enough to where this stuff is all the news networks have to run, but all this reality-tv, celebutaunt stuff is making me wish for better days…like the Bill Clinton/Monica Lewinsky scandal.  At least one person involved in that was intelligent, if only for knowing not to inhale.

-I wonder if I am ever going to work full-time again, or bring in a regular income that isn’t from the government.

-I wonder if it’s possible to walk a cat on a leash.

-I wonder what my husband would look like in a tutu.

-I wonder what people from high school and college think about how I turned out, or if I should care.

-I wonder if there’s any correlation in the facts that I have a long line of overweight alcoholics in my family and that we share our name with popular brands of Scotch and shortbread cookies.

-I wonder if I will ever get to where I don’t feel like I have to fill the silence with random stupid crap.

-I wonder if I’ll be alive to see which Nostradamus predictions and Armageddon/End-Times scenarios turn out to be true.

-I’m sure I have some sort of purpose on this planet, but I wonder if I’ll ever figure out what it is.

And, the most important question of all-

-I wonder if I’ll ever figure out that a person with hypoglycemia should take a break to eat before getting involved in a project so that she doesn’t have to suck down yogurt and sweet tea at midnight so she doesn’t feel like the room is spinning.  If you notice me getting bitchier as this post goes on, that’s why. Yeah, that’s my story, I’m sticking to it. 🙂

And on that note…

I’d welcome any answers you have, or further questions…even flame mail would do.  I’m still sober, I can take it. 🙂

And now I am going to shut up for a moment and line the catbox with the previously-mentioned tabloid.  I’m not sure what smells worse, the trash in the box or the trash on the pages.  Maybe by this time next year I’ll have figured it out. Later!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]Oh, and, Happy New Year.
About theprozacqueen

30s, female, married, Georgia US, very opinionated, open-minded mostly, too nice for my own good, Christian, fairly liberal, friendly. I have a pretty big family and several friends and in-laws that might as well be family. I don't have kids, but I have five cats who think they're kids. I have a silly (and sometimes off-color) sense of humor. I'm a Christian so I'll try not to be nasty or use bad language in my posts, but I'm not making any promises, View all posts by theprozacqueen

6 responses to “Enquiring minds want to know…

  • Ross

    one or two responses

    The main thing is, have kids because you *want* kids. There is no other reason to do it. You’re certainly not under any pressure. I think you’d be a great mum but I also think you’d be a great teacher, or nursery nurse, or any one of a hundred other things which would let you pass on love and truth to the next generation without having biological kids of your own.

    You would look awesome with a shaved head.

    It’s SO valuable and healthy that you can see good things in your life, like your husband. It’s things like that get me through really tough weeks.

    I sometimes wonder if the stuff I obsess about is because my mind’s running on overdrive and has nowhere else to go. I use talk radio or audiobooks to guide myself in more useful directions (although a *slight* obsession with something like cleaning can be kind of useful!)

    I totally agree on the celebrity magazines, although I’ll admit that there are times, when I’m really really burned out and tired and I can’t handle anything at all, when I’m quite entertained to know that Brannifer has broken up with Jenniston but they’ve got back together again on a reality show. It’s a bit like watching a soap opera. I try to treat the royal family in the same way, it stops me getting cross.

    Happy new year. 🙂

    Like

  • Jan

    Our cat loves to knead me when I’m reading–but not lately, as we’ve added our THIRD dog to our household. Not being a “cat person,” I didn’t know cats would knead something or someone when happy.

    I’ve always wanted to ask more questions, but they rarely occur to me.

    I’m glad you blog; you are cheering me up! Happy New Year!

    Like

  • ferijen

    If you ever get your husband into that tutu, I think The World (through the medium of your blog) needs to know.

    FWIW, I think a shaved head would be cold.

    And on the children thing: there are plenty of bad parents who have everything on their side to make them good parents, and plenty of good parents with the odds stacked against them.

    Like

    • theprozacqueen

      LOL When I was about 15, I hated my hair so much that I told my mom I was going to shave it all off and start over. Yes, I know it would have just grown back the same way, but I was annoyed…good thing my mom talked me out of it! 🙂

      Thanks, Ross and ferijen. It just seems that, to look around me, everyone has kids and that that is a natural progression of life and that, since I do not have any or have any plans to, I am ‘behind’ everyone else. There are other reasons I can’t have kids right now but when well-meaning people ask me why I don’t have kids or comment that I’d ‘better get started’ before I’m too old to (I’m 32), I never know what to say.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

The Gay Christian

My Thoughts. My Journal. My Life.

Tea and Theology

Fix yourself a cup of tea. Let's talk theology.

renegade mothering

tales of a wayward mama

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Notes from the U.K.

Exploring the spidery corners of a culture and the weird stuff that tourist brochures ignore.

My Ears Are Tired

where the days are long, but the years are short

Express With NeJae

Express Yourself ..We Care

New Pollyanna

Ne'er-do-well on the loose

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

~Idiot Writing~

'all our lives are a poetry - awake our souls.' ~ Battling the hypocrite within ~

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

J is for Jardín

A Rapid Cycling Kinda Life: Because Sometimes I Thrive & Sometimes I'm Dormant

Da UGLY Ducklin

The life of PASSION

blahpolar

bipolar, uninterrupted

Not A Minute To Waste

About life. Anything and everything about it. Let's talk.

Marie Abanga's Blog

My thrilling life as an author, coach, consultant & mental health advocate...

